Eastern Partnership Civil Society Forum

Civil Society Leadership Awards for Master’s Degree Studies

The Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) provide fully funded master’s degree study to individuals who clearly demonstrate academic and professional excellence and a deep commitment to leading positive social change in their communities.

CSLA directly assists future leaders in countries where civil society is challenged by a deficit of democratic practice in local governance and social development.

Awards are available for master’s degree study in the following fields at host universities across the world:

  • communications and media
  • culture, history, and society
  • development studies
  • economics
  • education management and leadership
  • environment and natural resource management
  • gender studies
  • law and human rights
  • politics and international studies
  • public health and health management
  • public policy and administration
  • social work and social policy


The awards are available to citizens of Eastern Partnership Countries.

Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • be a citizen of an eligible country
  • demonstrate maturity, flexibility and civil society leadership potential
  • have excellent academic records and an earned bachelor’s degree before applying
  • have proficiency in the language of instruction (English, German, or French) at the desired university program, as evidenced by standardized language test scores
  • be able to participate in an intensive academic writing program in July or August 2016 and start their degree program in August or September 2016
  • be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country
  • demonstrate a clear commitment to return to their home country or region to continue supporting open society development

Application process

The application can either be sent in paper form, or online on the CSLA website.


Electronic applications and all supporting materials should be submitted to by September 15, 2015.

For further information, go to the CSLA Website.

Project funded by the European UnionEU