Eastern Partnership Civil Society Forum

Anar Mammadli – EaP CSF member and human rights defender in Azerbaijan shortlisted for nomination of Václav Havel Human Rights Prize -2014

Anar Mammadli, a prominent Azerbaijani human rights defender and coordinator of Working Group 1 of EaP CSF was shortlisted for nomination of Václav Havel Human Rights Prize -2014 by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe ‘for an extensive contribution towards defending the right to free elections’.

Anar Mammadli contributed to programmes and events on monitoring of elections, participation and education of voters, as well as the design of materials and reports during 13 elections in Azerbaijan. He was arrested in December 2013 accused of "abuse of power" and other matters, and sentenced to 5 and a half years in prison in May 2014.

The EaP CSF has joined the international campaign to release Anar Mammadli from prison and nominated Anar for Václav Havel Human Rights Prize, an annual award, which aims to reward outstanding civil society action in the defence of human rights in Europe and beyond.

The EaP CSF Steering Committee has also published a number of statements and appeals to the EU officials, EU Foreign Ministers and the Council of Europe to address the issue of a growing number of political prisoners in Azerbaijan, which has been rising drastically in 2014.

The overall Prizewinner will be announced by the PACE President in the Assembly Chamber on the first day of the Autumn plenary session, 29 September 2014, at 12.30 pm.

The Václav Havel Human Rights Prize, which is awarded in partnership with the Václav Havel Library and the Charta 77 Foundation consists of a sum of €60 000, a trophy and a diploma.

EaP CSF congratulates Anar Mammadli and sends him a lot of courage and best wishes. 

Press release

Statement: EaPCSF condemns arrests of internationally respected civil society leaders in Azerbaijan

Statement of Eastern Partnership Civil Society Forum on arrest by Azerbaijan authorities of Anar Mammadli

Project funded by the European UnionEU